Permanent Collection Galleries

Gallery of the Art of the Western World, first floor

First-floor gallery

European and American Art, Medieval to the Present

Spanning the Middle Ages to the present, the collection of European and American art at the Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art offers a survey of the painting, sculpture, and decorative arts of the Western world. While relatively small, the collections of medieval through eighteenth-century art contain representative examples of major object types, styles, and movements, including Florentine, Venetian, and Northern Renaissance paintings and altarpieces; Dutch genre and still-life paintings; Baroque compositions celebrating the church and the monarchy; and Neo-Classical portraiture of the French Revolutionary era. Nineteenth- and twentieth- century art are well represented at the Eskenazi Museum of Art, with particular strengths in nineteenth-century landscape painting (from Romanticism to Impressionism) and twentieth-century modernist movements such as German Expressionism, Dada, and post-World War II abstraction. Highlights include major works by Gustave Caillebotte, Emil Nolde, Marcel Duchamp, Pablo Picasso, Stuart Davis, and Jackson Pollock.

Gallery of the Art of Asia and the Ancient Western World, second floor

second-floor gallery


The Asian collection at the Eskenazi Museum of Art covers a period of time from the second millennium BCE to the present, and a geographic area from the Arabian Peninsula to Japan and from the central and southern Asian countries of Afghanistan, Pakistan, and India, to Thailand, Cambodia, and Vietnam in the southeast. The vast continent of Asia is home to a wide array of peoples, languages, cultures, religions, customs, and histories; this diversity is reflected in the collection.

Ancient Western World

The ancient masterworks on view in the permanent collection gallery range in date from the third millennium BCE to the third century CE. They represent cultures from a vast area that encompasses Egypt and the Near East, including Mesopotamia (Iraq), Persia (Iran), Anatolia (Turkey), and the Levant (eastern coast of the Mediterranean Sea: Syria, Lebanon, Jordan, Israel and Palestine); as well as Ancient Italy, the Ancient Aegean, and the classical world of the Greeks and Romans.

Raymond and Laura Wielgus Gallery of the Arts of Africa, the South Pacific, and the Americas, third floor

third-floor gallery


The Eskenazi Museum of Art’s sub-Saharan African collection is considered to be among the best in the country. The collection, which emphasizes the human form in outstanding examples of figures and masks, also includes many fine examples of non-figural forms of African art, such as textiles, jewelry, and ceramics.

The Pre-Columbian Americas

Pre-Columbian art, also sometimes called art of the ancient Americas, refers to artworks from the Americas before the coming of the Europeans in the sixteenth century. The museum’s Pre-Columbian collection, though relatively small, includes outstanding examples of works from the major cultures of Mesoamerica (the area from northern Mexico to the Gulf of Nicoya in Costa Rica) and Peru, and a sampling of objects from the Intermediate Area, the region between Mesoamerica and Peru.

The South Pacific

The islands of the South Pacific, also called Oceania, can be broadly divided into the regions of Polynesia, Melanesia, Micronesia, Australia, and Indonesia. Of those, Polynesia and Melanesia are best represented in the Eskenazi Museum of Art by strong collections that highlight most of the major art-producing areas. Micronesia and Australia are represented by smaller collections, as are the indigenous peoples of the Indonesian archipelago.